Makati Ave.

“After this,” he said fiercely, “There will be nothing. We started out ideally but we now have to face reality. Do you understand me? Why waste time on such a ridiculous idea? This is NOTHING!” He gestured wildly with his arms failing around. “NOTHING! Don’t you hear me?” he shouted. His brilliant brown eyes burned with an intensity of a burning fire as he stared at the young woman in front of him.

Was she scared of him? No. Intimidated? Yes, but only because of his height and that she was drowning over her form.

“You don’t have to shout since I hear you perfectly! You’re scared!” she stated. But she will never say how frightened she was; he was never this rude before.

His reddened face showed signs of anger, madness, and fear. He was so angry that the young woman would not listen to him! He knew what was best for her; he knew everything about her.

“Scared of what?!” he demanded with a low growl.

“Scared of us! Scared of what we could have! Scared that this might actually work! Scared of being happy! You’re fucking scared of being loved!” she screamed. She stopped caring how her voice cracked. She stopped caring about everything but him.

For a moment, it seemed as if time had stopped. The brown eyes softened and looked into the ones before him. Was he scared? Was he truly scared of what may happen, or what may not? No. He was fearless. He was brave and nothing scared him anymore. He knew more than anyone else the things that can happen. He had seen many things in his lifetime; no – it was impossible – he was not scared.

Those brown eyes hardened once more. “You don’t understand! Just listen! Please!” His tone, more pleading, but still held that intensity that scared her more than she’d like to admit.

“Okay.” She crossed her arms infront of her and lowered her eyes to the street that they were standing on. She felt so vulnerable around him. He truly knew everything there was to know about her, and well, she felt so naked in front of him, no matter how much layer of clothing she wore.

She made him so exasperated! He ran his hands through his short messy hair; frustrated by her stance, a menacing scowl appeared on his face.

“I’m not going to attack you. Uncross your arms. Please look me in the eye.”

Her dark brown eyes blinked as a soft sigh escaped from her chapped lips. She was biting her lips from saying more than she already have. She slowly brought them up to his face, meeting the challenge and looking him in the eye.

He smiled a little on the inside. He knew she was really going to hear him out now; she was always fair to him. He noticed from his peripheral vision that her arms still remained crossed. Without breaking eye contact, he took a step towards her and uncrossed her arms himself. He hated when she did that; it showed indifference and a coldness that wasn’t usually her.

“I’m not scared. I sit in that room everyday, looking at you, wondering about that. Do you know how many nights I have stayed up all night thinking about you? You drive me wonderfully insane.” He breathed a sigh of relief when he saw that understanding, worrying feeling flicker in her eyes. “Never ever think twice about how much I care about you. I’m protecting you, okay?..”

Now she didn’t understand. She was confused. Her mouth parted as she began, “Wh-”

“No. Shhh,” he said softly, placing a slender finger over her lips as he took a step closer. “Listen. I care about you too much. I don… I don’t want to hurt you. I couldn’t.. live with myself if I ever hurt you.” He felt a bit of wetness on his face; tears began to slowly trickle from his eyes.

She closed her eyes. He was being sincere. Those tears never happened anymore; he was like a stone- cold and hard. Tears of her own began to form. She opened her eyes again; gleaming with unshed tears. It always took a lot of emotion for her to cry in front of others, especially him. She never wanted to be seen as weak.

“There..” he faltered. He didn’t know if he could do it. It was all planned out in his head. But right now, those tears in both their eyes were real and made it that much harder; that much more painful. He closed his eyes, he couldn’t see the hurt in them right now. “There can’t be anything.”

A small, painful sob escaped from her lips; her tears falling freely now, hitting his hand that was cupping her left cheek. “Yo.. You… You don’t mean that,” she said in between sobs. “You don’t mean that!”

That was when his heart broke. He was being weak and he knew that, but it didn’t matter anymore. He pulled her plump figure into his lean one, wrapping his arms around her tightly.

She was angry.. and hurt. Her heart was breaking and she wanted him to break for this. She closed her eyes and blindly start to pound her fists in his chest. “You don’t mean that! You don’t mean that! You can’t mean that!” She stopped screaming and collasped into his chest sobbing.

He held her. He never, ever wanted to let go. But if she only knew.. No, she couldn’t know.

His grasp on her tightened; letting her sob heavily on his chest as his own tears fell into her long black hair. He buried his face in her hair, breathing in deeply- trying to calm his own sobs and trying to catch onto that subtle scent that was continuously present.

He slowly pulled her away and brought his pale lips to her face, kissing her tears away. “Don’t cry. please.. don’t cry,” he whispered into her skin.

She suddenly pulled away from his grasp.

The sound seemed to echo. All of that anger and hurt pushed her to the limit, resulting in her palm striking his left cheek. He didn’t stop her. He knew that she was in pain, so he just stood there. A red imprint of her hand was there, angrily staring back at her. She didn’t care.

“Don’t try to stand there and tell me that you care when you’re breaking me! You don’t want me to be hurt? I am hurt! You broke my heart!” she screamed. “You are a selfish pig! You are a sick bastard! I hate you! I hate you so much because apparently, you don’t want me to LOVE YOU!”

He froze. She… loved him? “You love me?”

She ran her hands through her hair, pulling at it as she continued to sob. “Yes.. I’ve loved you since I first saw you. I love you so much that it physically hurts.. ” She collasped into a heap of hysterics on the asphalt.

He slowly knelt down to her and looked her in the eye. “Why do you love me?” he cried softly.

She looked at him. Frustrated by talking around in circles this entire time, she gently grabbed his face in her hands and pushed her lips firmly onto his. Electricity was ignited as both let out all of the pent up anger, passion, and pain into this one kiss. It was so soft, so powerful.

When he finally managed the courage to pull away from her soft lips, she opened her eyes and stared at him. “Tell me. Did you feel anything?” she demanded. After a few seconds of silence on his part, she shouted again, “Tell me you didn’t feel anything! Tell me you didn’t feel that! Tell me, and I’ll call you a liar.”

He grasped her face in a similar fashion and this time- pressed his lips onto hers. A small smile managed to catch both of them off guard, appearing on the two lovers’ faces.

Pulling away regretfully he whispered, “I’m going to hurt you. I’m going to be arrogant and undeserving and selfish. I’m going to be ungrateful.”

“I know,” she whispered back to him, meeting his dark gaze once more.

“I’m going to be difficult, sarcastic…”

“And I’m going to be rude, stubborn and doubtful,” she replied, interrupting him.

“I’m going to be those things too,” he said. “I’ll also be charming, witty and funny.”

“I’ll be brillant, naive, and annoying.”

“I’ll be unreliable.”

“I’ll be late.”

“I’ll be introverted. ”

“I’ll be too chatty.”

“I’ll be too cold.”

“I’ll be scared. ”

“I’ll protect you.”

“I’ll melt you.”

He softly smiled. “I’ll fall in love with you.”

She smiled bashfully, “I’m already in love with you.”

As there lips met in a third kiss, neither one cared anymore. They didn’t care what the world was going to do. All they cared about was this – being in love.

Author: angparaluman

a poster girl with no poster staying on the safe side of the road less traveled.

1 thought on “Makati Ave.”

Leave a Reply

