in which i talk about fires

while i was uploading pictures in facebook and multiply, and downloading some new songs from limewire (yeah yeah piracy sucks) i was answering the 10 second interview application in facebook to kill time. it’s really a good time killer since you have to answer the first thing that comes to your mind (hence, the 10 second interview) and then i was faced with the question, “what is the one thing you would save in a fire?”

i remember answering this question a couple of years back in my All About Me book (yeah, vanity.) and if i remember correctly, i wrote that i would save my journals and my pictures.
today i was left with a blank. i didn’t know what to save since everything is already so temporary in my life. 
now i don’t know if this is a good thing or a bad thing to say, but i don’t think i own any material possession worth risking my life. i mean sure, the first thing that popped into my mind was my laptop, but then again, it’s just a laptop. i know i wouldn’t be able to afford one right away, but there’s no need to really REALLY save it. besides, that means i get to have a new one. hehe.
my books came next, but then i realized, i have already read them so more or less, they are somewhere in my creatively cluttered brain. i would sure miss smelling them, but there are so many other books that i have yet to read. 
my phones, my bag came in next, but that too, did not strike any necessity for rescue. my clothes, my memory boxes all seem but space fillers for me now. 
i know i would be sad when all these things get lost and my initial reaction would prolly be to look for a cigarette and watch as my house burn down. 
my  point is, these material things, come and go. sometimes, we put to much value on these inanimate objects that we forget that we actually bought these things for our service – and not the other way around. everything can be replaced. 
what you cannot replace are the memories and the lessons that you have learned as you go through these things. it’s not bad to be a pack rat – trust me, my mom is one – but sooner or later when dust is eating your house, you have to let them go. the corporeal things that represent the memories may be gone, but i believe if something really means a lot to you, then that can never be taken away from you. not even by the biggest fire or storm in your life. 
and that’s what’s important to me. 

Author: angparaluman

a poster girl with no poster staying on the safe side of the road less traveled.

4 thoughts on “in which i talk about fires”

  1. i cannot replace our memories too, Bob!
    i’ve been trying to call your cell, but it seems like you’ve changed your number again. let me know your number so we can meet up and catch up for old time’s sake. we’re still friends, right?
    my number is still the same, in case you’ve forgotten it, it’s 09284360868…
    i’ll catch up with you soon, dollface. =)

Leave a Reply

