in which i just finished watching Sweeney Todd

the moment i stepped out of the movie house, i had a sudden inclination to:
eat malunggay leaves
buy iron capsules
get a tan
and go to the doctor because i was feeling anemic.

i think i wouldn’t be craving for empanadas any time soon.

but hats off – rather, heads off – to Tim Burton once again. i am not a big fan for gore/slasher movies, but since it was a musical, i knew i had to watch it in the cinema. this is not something you watch in a dvd, unless you have a kick ass home entertainment system. He has creatively merged gore, fantasy,and a bit of comedy which will leave you reaching out for a hankie feeling blood is spewed all over you. i was holding my neck for almost the whole duration of the movie. i had a feeling he would be slicing my neck out too. His version was not theatrical at all, but all the Tim Burton elements were there. High contrast, the all out feeling of gloom through out the movie, and swooping camera shots that he has made to be Tim Burton through and through.

Johnny Depp (Sweeney Todd), no matter how dark and cold he may appear in this film, still remains in my top 10 international doable list. the guy oozes charm that no amount of dark eyeshadow, eyebags and pale powder can hide it. what made it more real for me was that there was no remorse, or anger everytime he killed. he killed as natural as he was shaving. he was cold as his silver blade.

it was also a harry potter reunion as Wormtail and Snape were both in the picutre, this time side by side as Beadle Bamford (Timothy Spall) and Judge Turpin (Alan Rickman). i would have wanted Judge Turpin to be a bit more pedophilic, i felt that he still had the air of superiority and i felt that i wanted to see more of that lust for Joana. But that’s just me.

i’m not really big in telling the whole story and therefore ruining it for anyone who will read this and would still want to watch the movie, so i think i’m going to end it here. i highly recommend this movie to be watched in the cinemas but make sure that you eat BEFORE the movie – unless you can eat through vivid throat slashing scenes.

oh, and a quick anecdote before i really end this – when i was paying for my ticket, the lady asked me how old i was. SERIOUSLY. i can’t look that young.

oh well, it must be mandatory to ask everyone. or maybe because i was in uniform. i’ll never know.

let me end with my favorite song in this musical. it’s a song of Toby and Mrs. Lovett.

Nothing’s gonna harm you
Not while I’m around.
Nothing’s gonna harm you,
No sir, not while I’m around.
Demons are prowling everywhere nowadays.
I’ll send them howling,
I don’t care,
I got ways.

No one’s gonna hurt you,
No one’s gonna dare.
Others can desert you,
Not a worry–
Whistle I’ll be there.
Demons’ll charm you with a smile, for a while,
But in time…
Nothing’s gonna harm you,
Not while I’m around.

No one’s gonna hurt you,
No one’s gonna dare.
Others can desert you,
Not a worry–
Whistle I’ll be there.
Demons’ll charm you with a smile, for a while,
But in time…
Nothing’s gonna harm you,
Not while I’m around.
Nothing’s gonna harm you,
Not while I’m around.

i’m out.

Author: angparaluman

a poster girl with no poster staying on the safe side of the road less traveled.

Leave a Reply

