musical scoring of my life

today’s gospel talks about the Magnificat, or the song of Mary for Direk.

music is one of the moving factors of my life. i guess it’s quite obvious since i always put my LSS (last song syndrome) on my blog just so i can stop singing the song in my head. i always imagine in every single thing that happens to me, there’s a musical scoring behind it. from the moment i wake up (before i put on my make up.. :D) my iTunes are the first to greet me good morning. i usually play my Hillsongs (i especially love “I Love the Lord). during the day, depending on my mood, it can range from jazz to hiphop. i find listening to jazz soothes me during traffic. i listen to hiphop when i work out (feeling 50 cent) and when i prepare for a big night out (Showstopper – Danity Kane). i’ve got my go girl songs (ang walang kamatayang I Will Survive at I Learned from the Best) currently i’ve been listening to emo music (Fall Out Boy, My Chemical Romance) and Daft Punk every time i run, i think it’s the beat that keeps me running. i still listen to classical music or operas when i study. when i want to feel good, Jamiraquoi always helps me and when i want to sulk in my depression, Joni Mitchell and Counting Crows really just helps me get into that somber, angsty mood. finally when i get home, RnB or jazz calms me down, then again, my worship songs before i go to sleep (I Can Only Imagine – Amy Grant).

of course, there are the staple songs that i can listen to over and over again, like Dave Matthews, D’Sound, Norah Jones and Ella Fitzgerald.

i honestly don’t think i can put myself in just one genre of songs, although i would always say that imma true hip hop chick at heart. i don’t know if this makes me indecisive, or tolerant of different artists.

my song for Direk has changed too. but for now, this is my current song for Him. i’ve always tried to use this song for a special someone, but after hearing it being sung in Days, i think this is really for Direk, and no one else.
so special shout out to Haydee and Jam for making me realize who really first believed in me.

You First Believed
Hoku

How many times did I pray
You’d find me
How many wishes on a star
Gazing off into the dark
Dreaming I’d see your face
Safe at home unafraid
Captured in your embrace

So many times
When my heart was broken
Visions of you
Would keep me strong
You were with me all along
Guiding my every step
You are all that I am
And I’ll never forget

It was you who first believed
In all that I was made to be
It was you looking in my eyes
You held my hand
And showed me life
And I’ve never been the same
Since you first believed

There were times
When I’d thought I’d lost you
Fearing forever was a dream
But it wasn’t what it seemed
Placing your hand in mine
You could see in the dark
You were guiding my heart

It was you who first believed
In all that I was made to be
It was you looking in my eyes
You held my hand
And you showed me life
And I’ve never been the same
Since you first believed

How many times did I pray
You’d find me
How many wishes on a star

Author: angparaluman

a poster girl with no poster staying on the safe side of the road less traveled.

1 thought on “musical scoring of my life”

Leave a Reply

